Breast Cancer Risk

 

One in eight women will get get breast cancer. And that number is rising.

Scientists blame obesity, alcohol and the growing tendency to delay motherhood for record levels of the disease.Up to 47,700 women are being diagnosed every year, equal to 130 a day. That is double the number 30 years ago.
Pretty staggering odds when you think about it. And frightening to most women…myslef included. A couple of months ago, after a routine mammogram, I was called back to schedule a diagnositc mammogram – they had seen “something” that required a closer look. Fast forward a couple of weeks and I got the call from my doctor saying that they found something “suspicious” and I would be referred to a surgeon for a biospy. I can honestly say, that I was more afraid than I had ever been. I knew that even as healthy as I am – Cancer does not discriminate.

In the weeks that followed, I waited for the biopsy and then for the results. I was terrifed – for my children, my husband…for myself. I was extremely lucky. My tests came back normal. But even as breathe a sigh of relief, this experience has made an indeible mark on me. Those that battle and survive this insideous disease are the real heroes. For me, I know that I control the things that I can in order to be healthy. I eat healthy food, I exercise, I do what I can to lower my risk.

My question to you is, what are you doing to lower yours?

Did you know:

The use of alcohol is clearly linked to an increased risk of developing breast cancer.

The risk increases with the amount of alcohol consumed. Compared with non-drinkers, women who consume 1 alcoholic drink a day have a very small increase in risk. Those who have 2 to 5 drinks daily have about 1½ times the risk of women who drink no alcohol. Alcohol raises the levels of estrogen. Excessive alcohol use is also known to increase the risk of developing cancers of the mouth, throat, esophagus, and liver. The American Cancer Society recommends that women limit their consumption of alcohol to no more than one drink a day.

Did you know:

Obesity increases the risk of beast cancer – particulary after menopause.

Research has found that obesity increases the risk of breast cancer after the menopause by up to 30 percent. The overweight are also more likely to develop tumours. Fat cells produce estrogen and levels of this cancer-triggering hormone can be twice as high in obese women as those of a healthy weight. Also, women who are overweight tend to have higher blood insulin levels. Higher insulin levels have also been linked to some cancers, including breast cancer.

Evidence is growing that physical activity in the form of exercise reduces breast cancer risk. To reduce your risk of breast cancer, the American Cancer Society recommends 45 to 60 minutes of intentional physical activity 5 or more days a week.

Clearly, there are many risk factors that we have no control over…age, family history, genetics, etc. I encourage everyone to take charge of the things that you do have control over. By taking an active approach to you health, you have nothing to lose and everything to gain.

Get fit, stay well and thrive!

__________________________________________________

LiveStrong : http://www.livestrong.com

Stand Up To Cancer: http://www.standup2cancer.org/

Susan G. Komen for the Cure: http://ww5.komen.org/

The American Cancer Society: http://www.cancer.org/index

______________________________

“We’re changing our client’s lives – Give us an opportunity to change your’s. Join us and start moving in a healthier direction”.

Have a question? Ask a Health & Fitness Professional: info@eathealthyandthrive.com

 http://www.eathealthyandthrive.com

GET FIT, STAY WELL AND THRIVE IN 2011

Eat healthy and Thrive c.2011

 

Leave a Reply

